DACA Eligibility

Call (808) 321-8089 to learn more and get free confidential assistance


You may request DACA if you:

  1. Were under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012; AND
  2. Came to the United States before reaching your 16th birthday; AND
  3. Have continuously resided in the United States since June 15, 2007, up to the present time; AND
  4. Were physically present in the United States on June 15, 2012, and at the time of making your request for consideration of deferred action with USCIS; AND
  5. Had no lawful status on June 15, 2012; AND
  6. Are currently in school, have graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from high school, have obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, or are an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States; AND
  7. Have not been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor,or three or more other misdemeanors, and do not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.

Check Eligibility With An Online Interview

WeOwnTheDream.org and LawHelp have created an interactive online interview that can help you determine your eligibility for DACA and, if you are eligible, it can help you complete your application forms.

Watch a Video on DACA Eligibility and Applications

The United States Customs and Immigration Service (USCIS) has created a video that provides an overview of DACA eligibility and the application process.

Changes May Be Coming

In November 2014, President Barack Obama announced an expansion of the DACA program and a new program for certain undocumented parents of U.S. citizens and parents of lawful permanent residents (LPRs).

Currently, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) is not accepting applications for the Expanded DACA program for youth or the Deferred Action for Parents of Americans and Lawful Permanent Residents (DAPA) program. A federal district court in Texas has issued an order that temporarily blocks the DAPA and Expanded DACA programs from being implemented. This means that people will not be able to apply for DAPA or expanded DACA until a court issues an order that allows the initiatives to go forward.

However, USCIS continues to accept renewal applications or initial applications from people who qualify under the DACA criteria announced in June 2012.